Saturday, 21 April 2018

International Women's Day- Dr Manjiri Bakre

05 March 2018 | Features

Dr Manjiri Bakre, Founder & CEO, OncoStem Diagnostics

The loss of a close friend at a young age to breast cancer got Dr Manjiri M. Bakre thinking and triggered a venture in the form of OncoStem Diagnostics in 2011. It is a Bengaluru-based oncology focused start-up that recently raised $6 million from venture capital firms Sequoia Capital India Advisors and Artiman Ventures. Early funding and support for OncoStem Diagnostics came from Artiman Ventures and Biotech founder Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw.

On the occasion of International Women's Day, Dr Manjiri Bakre shares her personal side with BioSpectrum-

My Daily Routine-

Day typically starts with some exercise at 5.15 am and after packing off my daughter to school I typically leave for work at 7.45 am.  At work typically I wear multiple hats in one day depending on a day, it can be a sales meeting first thing in the am, followed by scientific publication review, followed by issue in purchasing a reagent, to trouble shooting a Statistical analysis work or visit a hospital to pitch the product for commercial purposes or propose a study with a hospital, help design a brochure for a conference, meet investors, interview candidates to reading and discussing a legal document with our lawyers. I typically leave for home by 5.30-6 pm.  Bangalore traffic can be very punishing if you leave late.  Upon reaching home daughter’s homework gets priority but on many nights there are calls with US.  The goal is always to eat together as a family.  Once our daughter is asleep work begins on most nights.  When she was younger I used to get her to sleep and often used to fall asleep myself but then would get up at 2 am to complete the pending work.  There is hardly a day I get to sleep before 11 pm!

 My idea of fitness and nutrition-

 Very important!  Both are absolutely critical! I used to do yoga at 5 am until sometime back for many years but that has stopped off late but certainly do walk every day.

 My favourite cuisine-

 Italian and Thai. I am vegetarian and enjoy any vegetarian and non-deep fried food a lot!

 My favourite holiday spot-

Hiking is my most favourite way to spend a holiday. I love to hike in high altitudes with family and friends.  Hiking gives you the required time to think and clear your mind, builds a lot of persistence.  We have gone hiking upto 18,000 ft in the US, Asia and India.

 My idea of balance between personal and professional life-

I understand it is hard and I am not very good at it but try to achieve it as much as I can by focusing on family on Sunday, cooking something fun with my daughter, meeting my sister and family on Saturday evenings.  Most importantly I do not keep harping on it and take the day as it comes.  I must admit I have a very understanding husband and daughter!  Having my sister live in the same complex as we do helps us as well.

 My role model-

Really do not have any, just want to be a happy human being and caring mother, daughter, sister and wife.  I certainly want to do well in everything I do.

Comments

× Your session has been expired. Please click here to Sign-in or Sign-up
   New User? Create Account





Survey Box

Can access to vaccines reduce the threat of antibiotic resistance?

× Please select an option to participate in the poll.
Processing...   View poll results   More polls

× You have successfully cast your vote.
More polls