Dr. Srinivasa Reddy bags prestigious Sun Pharma Research Award

15 February 2018 | News

Pune based, scientist is working in the area of total synthesis of biologically active natural products and medicinal chemistry

The prestigious Sun Pharma Research Award in the field of Pharmaceutical Sciences is given to Dr. Srinivasa Reddy, a scientist from the Organic Chemistry Division of CSIR-National Chemical Laboratory (CSIR-NCL), Pune.

He received the award by Mr. Dilip Shanghvi, Managing Director, Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd. and Prof. Vishwajit Nimgaonkar, University of Pittsburgh, USA at a function held in India Habitat Centre in New Delhi on 12th February. 

Dr. Reddy is working in the area of total synthesis of biologically active natural products and medicinal chemistry using “silicon incorporation approach”.

His group research interests are related to application oriented organic synthesis in particular total synthesis of biologically active natural products; medicinal chemistry and crop protection.

Efforts on macrocyclic natural compounds and silicon incorporation in known drug scaffolds with an ultimate aim of discovering drugs are the special interests.

His research group has accomplished total synthesis of more than 25 natural products with impressive biological activities.

A few recent achievements include identification of potential leads: (i) antibiotic compound based on hunanamycin natural product for treating food infections, (ii) anti-diabetic molecule in collaboration with an industry partner and (iii) anti-TB compound using a strategy called “repurposing of a drug scaffold”. 

Dr. Reddy has more than 80 scientific publications and is an inventor in 35 patents.

He is recipient of prestigious Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar prize in chemical sciences.

Other recognitions include CDRI Award for excellence in drug discovery research, CRSI Bronze Medal in chemical science, NASI-Reliance Industries Platinum Jubilee Award for application oriented innovations in physical sciences, OPPI award for contributions in pharmaceutical sciences.

He is a nominated member of the scientific body of Indian Pharmacopoeia, Govt. of India.

He also serves as an editor of Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry Letters, an Elsevier journal.

He was also elected as a fellow of Telangana and Maharashtra Academies of Sciences in addition to the prestigious National Academy of Sciences, India (NASI). 

It is interesting to note that two out of four awardees are from the CSIR institutes.


× Your session has been expired. Please click here to Sign-in or Sign-up
   New User? Create Account