

Union Health Minister releases 10th edition of API Textbook of Medicine

05 February 2015 | News | By BioSpectrum Bureau

Union Health Minister releases 10th edition of API Textbook of Medicine



The 10th Edition of API (Association of Physicians of India) Textbook of Medicine was released by Shri Jagat Prakash Nadda, Hon'ble Union Minister of Health & Family Welfare at an event in New Delhi. Mr. Nadda, the Chief Guest for the event, also presented prestigious Dr Jivraj Mehta Awards for the year to eminent physicians of the country.

Dr Shashank Joshi, president API; Dr Rajesh Upadhyay, president Elect API and Dr YP Munjal, Editor-in-Chief of the 9th and 10th Edition of API Textbook of Medicine addressed the conference. Other dignitaries present at the ceremony included Dr Milind Y Nadkar, Hon'ble secretary, API and Dr Pritam Gupta, Dean ICP. The event also witnessed the release of electronic version of 10th Edition of API Textbook of Medicine by Dr Jitendra Singh, Hon'ble Minister of State, PMO & DOPT and Guest of Honour for the event.

The book will see major issues discussed, such as the gaps that exist in healthcare implementation, understanding of disease and its management, the disease profile and substantial change along the demography of various disorders.

For the first time 'Futuristic Medicine' and the problems of 'Space Travel' have been delineated and highlighted through the book. This part of the book deals with the anticipated progress in medicine which will be put to clinical use in the coming one to two decades or the advances that are being used in their early stages in clinical practice. The book intensively describes Futuristic Medicine, Regenerative Medicine, Introduction to Space Medicine, Nanotechnology and Nanomedicine and Robotic Surgery.

The book also discusses 'Disease Profile and Epidemiology of Communicable and Non-communicable Diseases in India' that gives an ample understanding of the diseases commonly prevalent in this part of the world. The parts of the book also deal with various life-style disorders like diabetes mellitus and cardiovascular diseases.

The eminent physicians who were felicitated with Dr Jivraj Mehta Award during the event were Dr Ashok Das, Dr V Mohan, Dr Dev Pahlajani, Dr V Parameshwara, Dr GS Sainani and Dr SK Sharma.

Speaking on the occasion, Dr Shashank Joshi, President API said, "It is indeed a proud moment for the Association of Physicians to come out with the Textbook's 10th edition. The textbook is a result of constant hard work and dedicated efforts of all the members of the Association. I congratulate the API and specially Dr Y P Munjal, for keeping up this work. I would also like to congratulate the winners of the prestigious Dr Jivraj Mehta Awards for the year for their outstanding contributions to the medicine world."