

Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw receives 'Jamsetji Tata Award' for pioneering biosciences movement in India

14 December 2024 | News

Jamsetji Tata Award is given by ISQ to industry leaders who have made significant contribution to the Indiansociety



Biocon Group Chairperson Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw has been conferred the prestigious Jamsetji Tata Award by the Indian Society for Quality (ISQ) for pioneering the biosciences movement in India and serving patients in India and across the world through an unwavering focus on quality, while leading Biocon to a preeminent global position.

The Jamsetji Tata Award, instituted in 2004 by ISQ, is named after Jamsetji Tata, regarded as the 'Father of Modern Indian Industry' and recognises business leaders who have made significant contributions to Indian society and demonstrated focus on quality, commitment, and a record of outstanding results.

Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw is a pioneering biotech entrepreneur, a healthcare visionary, a global influencer, and a passionate philanthropist. As founder of Biocon, an innovation-led global biopharmaceuticals enterprise, her vision and work have drawn global recognition both for Indian industry and her company. The impact she has made as a leading woman in science has made her a role model globally. She is committed to equitable access to healthcare through affordable innovation as she pursues a path of making a difference to billions of lives globally.

Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw'sinspiring achievements have earned her several coveted titles and awards, both national and international. She has been recognized with two of India's highest civilian honours, the Padma Shri (1989) and the Padma Bhushan (2005). She has been conferred with the Order of Australia, Australia's highest civilian honour, in 2020 and appointed Knight of the National Order of the French Legion of Honour in 2016. She was named EY World Entrepreneur of the Year in 2020. In 2014, she was honoured with the Othmer Gold Medal by the US-based Chemical Heritage Foundation. The same year, the Kiel Institute for the World Economy, Germany, awarded her the Global Economy Prize.